Il Buco

A couple of weeks ago, Kohli and I went to New York for the National Stationery Show. It’s one of my favorite shows because the stationers and designers are so smart, clever, fun, and NICE. And it’s a real bonus that the show is in NYC, one of the best cities to indulge my culinary interests.

We headed over to Il Buco Alimentari & Vineria for the afternoon for a late lunch. Turns out, I could’ve spent every afternoon here! When you walk in, you’re greeted by the coziness and warmth of a curated artisanal market and grocery. Step down a few steps and you’re in the restaurant where the ambiance is relaxed and cheerful (at least when we were there at 3pm on a Tuesday)!

The décor in the restaurant matched the food—simple and rustic. We ordered quite an array of food and beverages:

Cocktail: Vispo with herradura tequila, green tomato jam, fresh lime juice, & a spicy calabrian chili
Crispy Artichokes with preserved lemon
Ricotta with sugar snap peas, pine nut granola, & mint
Grilled Sausage with charred garlic scapes, currants, & crispy carrots
Slow-Roasted Short Rib Panini with gorgonzola & onion agrodolce

I loved, and I mean loved, everything. The food was absolutely delicious and our server was super knowledgeable about the menu and food sources. The short ribs were the best I’ve ever had. Ever. And I only ate half so I was able to enjoy leftovers later that evening!

If you’re planning a trip to NYC anytime soon, I would highly recommend adding Il Buco to your itinerary. I plan on making this a regular stop on my trips to NYC. I’m not a food critic or a food blogger, but I really appreciate the sharing of authentic food and of unique food experiences. What are some of the best dining experiences you’ve ever had?

Posted by: Carmen
Carmen is an owner of Trohv. She is from a cattle and tobacco farm in Kentucky but has lived in the Charles Village neighborhood of Baltimore for almost 10 years. She loves to discover new music and new places and sip good bourbon.

Leave a comment

Archives

Categories